Welcome to the “Chat” portion of the app. If your administrator has granted you access to the Chat option, you will see this in the main menu.
There are three different types of chat messages, which we will go over in detail on this page.
By default, you will see your chats for the past 10 days. You can change that for Direct and SMS Messages using the date filter at the top left of the screen. (Channels are always visible and do not change based on the date filter.)
To begin a new Direct Message between you and another user within your organization:
A new conversation has now been started and you can begin typing your message. Any previous conversations with this user will appear when you click the start button.
You will find the following options below the message field:
Once you have sent your message, it will appear on the left side of the screen under the Direct Messages heading. New incoming messages will be indicated by a blue badge showing the number of unread messages; you can select that conversation to read the new messages and continue the conversation.
There is a blue phone button at the top right of the screen which can be used to make a call directly from the chat screen. On the desktop version of the app there is also a blue video button at the top right of the screen which is only enabled if you have Intulse Meetings. You can use this button to quickly create a video call directly to the other user you’re chatting with.
There are two types of channels: Private and Public.
Private channels are only visible to users who have been invited to join them.
Public channels are visible to everyone in your organization.
To begin a new Private Channel:
If you want the channel to be Public, meaning everyone in your organization will be a member on the channel, give it a name and click “Create.”
Once a channel has been created, it will appear on the left side of the screen under the Channels heading. Click on the channel to read and respond to a message.
Like direct messages, channels also have the following options at the bottom of the screen:
New incoming messages will be indicated by a blue badge showing the number of unread messages, and each new message will show up with the name of the user who sent it. At the top right of the screen, you are able to view the members of that channel.
Only the owner of the channel has the ability to add or remove users, or delete the channel.
All Intulse phone numbers can be enabled for SMS Text messaging if desired. Once enabled, you can then send texts using those numbers. Enabling a phone number for messaging in the Intulse App is accomplished in the Intulse Account Center which will not be covered in this video.
To send a new SMS text message to an external phone, such as a cell phone:
Once you have sent your message, it will appear on the left side of the screen under the SMS heading.
Be aware that other users in your organization will likely be able to see your SMS conversations. Which users will be able to see your conversations is controlled by “Chat Number Access” permissions in the Account Center, which we will not cover in this video.
If multiple users have access to see a conversation, they can all send SMS messages. You will be able to see which user has sent each outgoing message in a conversation. However, the recipient will not know that they are talking to multiple people. They will simply know they are texting with a number owned by your organization.
New incoming messages will be indicated by a blue badge showing the number of unread messages. Select that conversation to read and respond to the message. There is a blue phone button at the top right of the screen, which can be used to make a call directly from the chat screen.
Once a message has been sent, any user on the system who has access to see the conversation can claim it. Everyone will still be able to view the conversation, but when a conversation has been claimed there is a blue banner at the top of the page letting everyone know you are taking the lead in the conversation. You can remove your “claim” at any time.
When a conversation has not been claimed there will be a yellow banner at the top of the page letting everyone know that it has not been claimed. There is no requirement for anyone to claim a message; however, if you want to let everyone on your team know that you will be handling the message, or if you want to make it a private conversation, the claim button is there as an option.
Once you claim a conversation, you can also mark it as private, meaning that you are now the only one who can view that conversation thread. This private setting can also be removed at any time. Making a conversation private does not stop other users from seeing that the conversation exists, it just makes the content invisible to anyone other than the user that has claimed it.
You will notice several different Delivery Reports on outgoing SMS messages.
There are several Profile settings related to Chat notifications. You can find these settings by selecting the “More” menu and then selecting the “Profile” screen. You can learn more about these notifications in the Profile video.
You are able to select whether you want to receive notifications: